I stopped by pre-school today to eat lunch with Melissa who is currently teaching that class. I was a couple of minutes early so I sat down on one of the tiny chairs at a 2-seater table and waited for her to join me. One of her students arrived first, let’s call him Jonah, and shyly said “I’m going to sit with you Mr Matt” 🤦‍♂️😁

When Mrs Melissa arrived she sat at the next table (actually closer to me than Jonah was so it worked out well) and we started chatting. Every so often Jonah would politely request my attention to tell me about his day or some other random thought that popped into his head. Two highlights included:

Jonah: “Excuse me Mr Matt, why isn’t your beard connected to your hair?” Me, laughing: “It’s called a goatee and a moustache, that’s just the way I cut it” Jonah: “It would be funny if it grew down to your knees and covered your mouth so you couldn’t eat”

Then a few minutes later: Jonah: “Excuse me Mr Matt, why do you want to eat lunch with my teacher?” Me: “Because we’re married. Mrs Melissa is my wife” Jonah’s jaw dropped as he processed that information for 4 or 5 seconds before continuing… Jonah: “But you’re not my dad!!!” Me, laughing again: “And Mrs Melissa isn’t your mum, so that’s okay”

Matthew Lindfield Seager @matt17r